October 29, 2019

Photo of Jazz Ensemble singer Oksana Herrera

Oksana Herrera, a Highlands junior vocal performance major, sings with the Highlands Jazz Ensemble spring semester 2019. She will perform again in the Nov. 8 Jazz Ensemble concert directed by music professor Edward Harrington, right. 
Photo: Rick Loffredo/University Relations

Las Vegas, N.M. – The New Mexico Highlands University department of music presents the university’s Jazz Ensemble in concert Nov. 8 at 7 p.m. in the historic Ilfeld Auditorium, 900 University Ave.

Highlands University music professor Edward Harrington directs the Jazz Ensemble. Music faculty member Kevin Zoernig is the concert co-director and pianist.

“Our program at Ilfeld auditorium features new students, returning students, and community members,” Harrington said. “Students majoring in music and community members make the Highlands University Jazz Ensemble an edifying experience for everyone.”

Ticket prices for the Jazz Ensemble concert are $10. Highlands and other students with valid IDs enjoy free admission.

Harrington said additional musicians include Christian Soveranez, a music production major; Dominique Garcia-Gallegos, a performance major in violin and voice; Jovina Sandoval, a music production major; and Chantel Mullen, a freshman music production major.

Other new freshmen this semester are percussionist Roman McKee and guitarist Richard Hernandez. Both are music production majors.

Martin Neddo-Roaque, a senior music technology major, is the featured bassist on Miles Davis’ “So What.” The Jazz Ensemble will also perform Neddo-Roaque’s original composition, titled “Blue Orchestra.”

“Community members are a source of strength, inspiration, and experience for the Jazz Ensemble,” Harrington said. “They include Steve Leger on trumpet, Mark Gillingham on baritone saxophone, June Franklin on tenor saxophone, Robert Henssler on alto saxophone, Jamie García on trumpet, John Seaton on trombone, Bruce Holmes on alto saxophone, and Ralph Marquez on drums. So much of the learning that happens in rehearsals comes from these community members.”

Harrington said Zoernig will bring one of his prized Hammond organs to this concert.

“Kevin collects and rebuilds these wonderful instruments. This legacy instrument, in Kevin’s expert hands, will add lots of life and character to the show,” Harrington said.

The musical selections for the concert include:

“Green Onions” featuring Kevin Zoernig, piano
“Ida, Sweet as Apple Cider”
“Milestones” featuring Mighty Williams, piano
“Can’t Help Lovin’ Dat Man” featuring Jovina Sandoval, voice, and Kevin Zoernig, piano
“Satin Doll”
“So What” featuring  Martin Neddo-Roaque, bass
“Blue Orchestra” Martin Neddo-Roaque, student composer
“Beautiful Maria of  My Soul” featuring Bruce Holmes, alto saxophone
“Where is the Love” featuring Dominique García-Gallegos, voice
“Chega de Saudade” featuring Edward Harrington, trombone
“When the Saints Go Marching In”
“I Love Being Here With You” featuring Oksana Herrera, voice; Bruce Holmes, alto saxophone; and Mark Gillingham, baritone saxophone
“Yer Changes” featuring Richard Hernandez, guitar
“Dreamsville” featuring Bruce Holmes, alto saxophone; and Steve Leger, trumpet
“Does Anybody Really Know What Time It Is” featuring Chris Soveranez, voice
“My Funny Valentine” featuring Chantel Mullen, voice
“Agua de Berber” featuring Ralph Marquez, drums, and Roman McKee, percussion
“What is Hip”