Action and Information Items | Academic Affairs Documents | Academic Affairs Meeting MinutesFaculty Senate Meeting MinutesGeneral Faculty Meeting Minutes | Faculty Resources | Faculty Senate Strategic Plan

The Faculty Senate is the primary way that faculty participate in university governance. It is elected in accordance with its own constitution that appears in the Faculty Handbook and approved by the Highlands Board of Regents. To carry out its responsibility, the Faculty Senate and its subcommittees meet on a regular basis. Meetings of the Faculty Senate are scheduled between 3-5 p.m, on the second and fourth Wednesdays of the month, while classes are in session.

The Office of the Faculty Senate is:
Purchasing Building Room 6
Telephone: 426.2004

ZOOM link for Faculty Senate and Academic Affairs Meetings:

The Faculty Senate at New Mexico Highlands University has the following authority, responsibility and functions:

  • To initiate and review policies which affect the faculty at Highlands
  • To make studies and offer recommendations and advisory opinions on any matters germane to the welfare of the faculty and students
  • To create, update, distribute and permit electronic access to the NMHU Faculty Handbook.
  • To elect members to certain committees
  • To create ad hoc committees to study, investigate and make recommendations on matters that concern the well being of the faculty
For additional information relating to faculty, please see the Collective Bargaining Agreement.

Members of the Faculty Senate for the 2018-19 Academic Year are:

  • Dr. David Sammeth – Executive Committee, Faculty Senate Chair (Chemistry)
  • Dr. Orit Tamir – Executive Committee, Faculty Senate Vice Chair (Social & Behavioral Sciences)
  • Dr. Jennifer Lindline – Executive Committee, Faculty Senate Secretary (Natural Resources Mgmt.)
  • Dr. Maureen Romine – Executive Committee, Faculty Senate (Biology)
  • Dr. Kathy Jenkins – Executive Committee, At Large (Exercise and Sport Sciences)
  • Dr. Kipling Coggins – Executive Committee, At Large (Social Work/Albuquerque)
  • Professor Angela Meron – Executive Committee, At Large (School of Business, Media Arts & Technology)
  • Dr. Luis Ortiz (School of Business / Business Administration)
  • Dr. John Jeffries (Computer and Mathematical Sciences)
  • Dr. Ben Villarreal (English & Philosophy)
  • Dr. Elaine Rodriquez (History & Political Science)
  • Dr. Norma Valenzuela (Languages & Culture
  • Dr. Andrea-Garcia Nuthmann (Visual & Performing Arts)
  • Dr. Jeanie Flood (Nursing)
  • Professor Leon Bustos (Psychology)
  • April Kent (Library)
  • Dr. Eva Yerende (School of Education / Curriculum & Instructional/Rio Rancho)
  • Dr. Kevin Ensor (School of Education / Counseling & Guidance/Rio Rancho)
  • Dr.  Robert Karaba (School of Education / Educational Leadership)
  • Dr. Yvonne Moreno (School of Education / Special Education)
  • Dr. Shirley Meckes (School of Education / Teacher Education)
  • Vacant (Staff Senate Representative) (Non-Voting)
  • Vacant (Student Senate Representative) (Non-Voting)
  • Mary Jane Valdez (Administrative Assistant to the Faculty Senate)