Students, Faculty Honored for Outstanding Leadership

Image of Jane Clark hugging Jasmine Archuleta

Jasmine Archuleta, left, gets a hug from Jane Clark after Archuleta was named the Student of the Year April 3. Clark nominated Archuleta for the honor. Photo: Rick Loffredo/Highlands University

Las Vegas, N.M. – Highlands University students, faculty and staff were honored for their outstanding leadership and other contributions to the university at the 21st Annual Student Leadership Recognition Banquet April 3.

The Office of Campus Life, directed by Margaret Gonzales, organizes the event each year.

“The student leadership banquet is one of the most visible vehicles we have for recognizing exceptional leadership, academic ability, accomplishments and honors among our outstanding students and campus community,” Gonzales said.

Jasmine Archuleta, a 21-year-old political science junior from Española, New Mexico, received Student of the Year honors. She is the first in her family to attend college and will graduate in December 2019. On top of her academic achievements, Archuleta is part of the work-study program in the Office of Recruitment and Undergraduate Admissions.

“Jasmine shines not only as a brilliant student in the classroom, but as a contributing member of our office,” wrote Jane Clark, campus visits specialist in the recruitment office, in her nomination letter for Archuleta. “Jasmine understands the meaning of hard work and her performances in and outside the classroom reflect that.

“Jasmine is respected by all who know her – peer and professor alike. I am in awe of her ability to relate to others and bring a sense of community and loyalty to each task assigned to her. Her work ethic is contagious, and her joy and love of all that is Highlands is felt by anyone around her. Jasmine knows how to step up to the plate and contribute to the greater good,” Clark said.

Archuleta said she made the right decision to come to Highlands because of all the opportunities she’s had ranging from strong academics to student government leadership.

“It’s been very satisfying to write student government bills that help other students with professional development,” Archuleta said. “I also enjoy being a voice for students as a senator.”

Archuleta said she looks up to her professors at Highlands and trusts their advice.

“Dr. Elaine Rodríguez in political science is an excellent professor, adviser and mentor who encourages me in my goal of attending law school after I graduate,” Archuleta said.

Archuleta said the most rewarding aspect of working in recruitment is leading prospective students on tours and then seeing the student later on campus as part of the Highlands family.

Other honorees include:

  • Professor of the Year – Sarah Corey-Rivas, biology professor
  • Staff Member of the Year – Joanne Martínez, Facundo Valdez School of Social Work
  • Club of the Year – Chemistry Club
  • Biology Department Awards – Amelia Thompson, outstanding graduate student; Kendall García, outstanding senior; Anabella Miller, outstanding sophomore
  • Robert Amai Organic Chemistry Award – Zachary Yee
  • Robert Amai General Chemistry Award– Brooklyn Aragon, Lorenzo Ortiz, Jalyn Chavez
  • American Chemical Society Organic Chemistry Award– Victoria Sena
  • English Department Awards – Lynnae Lucero, outstanding undergraduate; Christina Litherland, outstanding graduate student
  • Facundo Valdez School of Social Work – Tilgham Boyd Evans, MSW candidate; Oliver Huffman, peer mentor
  • Department of Languages and Culture/Hispanic Culture and Language Association – Maria Sotomayor, Roberto Monclova, Seth Mender
  • Spanish Program Awards – Maria Sotomayor and Mandy Lyon
  • Phi Eta Sigma National Honor Society – Robert Mason, Jenifer Bramlett, Bernedette Armstead, Donna Gomez, Stephanie Sanderson, Jessica Etoll, Josephine Torres, Maryssa Loera Madrid, and Mica Raymond
  • ARMAS Awards – Haley Esquibel, Supplemental Instruction Leader of the Year; Sandra Espinoza, front desk; Alyssa Palmer, front desk-data diva
  • Student Recruitment & Undergraduate Admission Awards – Jasmine Archuleta, Sam Proper, Rejoice Uzo-Hez, Rebekah Peoble
  • Career Services Awards – Malaya Josephine Huesers, Dali Miranda, Mangisto Deng
  • Office of Campus Life & Conferences Awards – Marisa Chavez and Janessa Padilla
  • Highlands Undergraduate Enrichment Awards – Noel Totman and Oliver Huffman, lead peer mentors; Linda Palos, office manager
  • ITS Help Desk Award – Dayana Sarinana
  • Science Fair Award – Larissa Romero
  • West Las Vegas High Department of Vocational Rehabilitation Program – Nasaria García and Carla O’Neil