Students Receive Recognition for Outstanding Leadership

Logan Wolfel, right, receives the Highlands Student of the Year Award for 2017 – 2018

Photo: Margaret McKinney/University Relations
Logan Wolfel, right, receives the Highlands Student of the Year Award for 2017 – 2018 from Jessica Snow, a biology professor and one of his nominators.

Las Vegas, N.M. – Highlands University students received recognition for their outstanding leadership in and out of the classroom and other contributions to the university at the 20th Annual Student Leadership Recognition Banquet April 4.

The Office of Campus Life, directed by Margaret Gonzales, organizes the event each year.

“Our theme for the banquet this year is Dwight D. Eisenhower’s quote, ‘The supreme quality of leadership is integrity,’” Gonzalez said.

Logan Wolfel, 22, received the Student of the Year Award. He will graduate from Highlands in May 2018 with a bachelor’s degree in chemistry with a concentration in biochemistry, earning a 3.97 GPA to date.

He gained coveted early acceptance to the University of New Mexico School of Medicine and begins his studies in July 2018.

“All my science professors at Highlands were exceptional and have been beyond supportive of my drive to get into medical school,” Wolfel said. “Any time I had questions regarding the process they were right by my side to help me find the answers.”

Wolfel has earned numerous awards at Highlands such as being named Organic Chemistry Student of the Year in 2016, ARMAS Scholar for academic excellence in science disciplines, and ARMAS Supplemental Instruction Leader (SIL) of the Year in 2016-2017.

Faculty members in physics and biology nominated Wolfel for the award, along with ARMAS staff.

“I have not experienced anyone in my 19-plus years at Highlands that is more deserving of this honor than Logan Wolfel,” said Joseph Sabutis, physics professor. “Highlands needs to celebrate his performance as ranking in the top 15 percent of all medical school applicants in the country in 2018.”

Biology professor Jessica Snow said: “As a student in my Anatomy and Physiology class, Logan impressed me immediately with his drive, work ethic, intellectual capacities and character. His motivation to do research is unparalleled among my students. I trust Logan will advance my own research substantially through his contributions. He’s an outstanding contributor in the classroom, in the lab, and in the community.”

Eli Mohanna, ARMAS supplemental instruction coordinator, said: “Logan used his service-oriented nature and responsibility to create the best experience possible for his students as a physics Supplemental Instruction Leader. His work was superior.”

Outside the classroom, Wolfel was a student government leader at Highlands, serving as a student senator. He was also vice president of the Chemistry Club, among other activities.

Other honorees include:

  • Professor of the Year – Chien-Ghung Chen, Marketing
  • Staff Member of the Year –Tori Beth Miller, Facundo Valdez School of Social Work
  • Club of the Year – Chemistry Club
  • Robert Amai General Chemistry Award– Haley Esquibel
  • Robert Amai Organic Chemistry Award – Victoria Sena
  • Robert Amai Graduating Senior Chemistry Award – Onnica Pino
  • American Chemical Society Award in Organic Chemistry – Santiana Marrujo
  • American Chemical Society Award in Analytical ChemistryVictoria Sena
  • American Chemical Society Award in Physical Chemistry – Bailey Wallace
  • Lorraine Schula Outstanding Art Student Award – Mary Miller, Ashley Pitrucha, Rae Chavez
  • Lorraine Schula Outstanding Music Student Award – Elena Chavez, Jaylene Garcia
  • Highlands Haciendas Peer Mentoring Program Award – Brandon Villalobos, Diana Venegas, Miranda Andrego
  • Natural Resources Management Department/Geology Program Award – Luke Romero, Donavan Kandjii
  • Biology Department Award – Zachary Yee, undergraduate; Brandon Maes, graduating senior; Eric Brown, graduate student
  • Languages & Culture Department/Hispanic Culture and Language Association Award – Lynnae Lucero, Natasha Perea, Shania Ramirez
  • Psychology Department Award – Burton Chavez, Melodee Arementa
  • Native American Center Award – Rushanna Sandoval, Zecherrya White, Gideon Takor
  • English Department Award – Steven Rivera, undergraduate; Alexis Weather, graduate student
  • ARMAS Supplemental Instruction Award – Brandon Browne
  • ARMAS ­– MSEIP Grant AwardJohnny Tuineau, Behnaz Yekkeh, Justin Stallworth
  • Association of Latino Professionals in Finance & Accounting (ALPFA) Award ­– Erin Carrica, Olivia Delgado, Vanessa Chung, Leigh Baca
  • Office of Campus Life & Conferences Intramurals Program Award – Jalen Martinez
  • Office of Campus Life & Conferences Award – Kylee Norman, Vanessa Jones, Marissa Chavez, Kevin Ortega, Liyah Lujan, Brianna Bolen, Tracy Booker;
  • Recruitment & Undergraduate Admissions Award – Rebekah Peoble, Casandra Medina, Rebecca Jiacoletti
  • Phi Eta Sigma National Honor Society – Georgia Baca, Burton Chavez, Janice Juan, Jordan Martinez, Vnessa Bedonie, Sharon Doom, Wilbert Kady, Marlina McCall, Sandra Begay, Desiree Montalvo, Natasha Lee-Arthur, Candice Noel, Jessica Benavidez, Tracy Fabre, Ashley Leyba, Pablo Ortiz, Ashlee Bradley, Mary Ann Garcia, Wendy Loomis, Maria Ruvalcaba Parra, Troy Campbell, Amanda Gomez, Angela Luna, Angela Roybal, Desiree Carlile, Hanna Hamblin, Merritt Maighx, Darla Santillanes, Renee Carillo, Stephanie Hammer, Gabrielle Maldonado, Jade Santillanes, Daniela Chacon, Nithtaya Hongkham, Sylvia Marquez, Janiah Shields, Karen Tenorio 
  • Partnering for Research and Education in Materials (PREM) Award – Victoria Sena
  • HU CARES Award – Jessica Estrada
  • Native American Club Award – Tyrell Morgan, Rushanna Sandoval