For post-fire resources and recovery information, please click the banner.

For post-fire resources and recovery information, please click the banner.

Natural Sciences Faculty

Biology Concentration

Sarah Corey-Rivas, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Phone 505-454-3301
Email: sjcorey@nmhu.edu
Research: Conservation Genetics & Ecology of Reptiles and Amphibians, Landscape Ecology.
Web page

Sarra Hinshaw, Ph.D.
Visiting Professor
Phone: 505-426-2067
Email: sehinshaw@nmhu.edu

Ben S. Nelson, D.V.M
Assistant Professor
Phone: 505-454-3305
Email: nelson_ben@nmhu.edu
Research: Biomedical – antibiotic resistance
Web page

Jesus Rivas, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Phone: 505-454-3292
Email: rivas@nmhu.edu
Research: Animal Behavior, Ecology, Conservation, Wildlife, Tropical Ecology, Herpetology.
Web page

Maureen Romine, Ph.D.
Full Professor, Biology Department Chair
Phone: 505-454-3264
Email: romine_m@nmhu.edu
Research: Botany – Mycorrhizae.
Web page

Jessica Snow, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Phone: 505-426-2118
Room: HSCI-136
Email: jbsnow@nmhu.edu
Research: Cell Biology and Physiology- Mechanisms of Pulmonary Hypertension

Environmental Science & Management Concentration

Blanca Cespedes, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor and Chair
Department of Forestry
Bcespedes@Nmhu.Edu

Joshua L. Sloan, Ph.D.
Director of Forestry, Interim
Department of Forestry
Silviculture and Forest Management
Jlsloan@Nmhu.Edu

James R. Biggs, Ph.D.
Department of Forestry
Wildlife and Fire Ecology
Jrbiggs@Nmhu.Edu

Tomasz B. Falkowski, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Forestry
Socioecological Restoration
Tbfalkowski@Nmhu.Edu

Jennifer G. Klutsch, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor and Forestry Program Coordinator
Department of Forestry
Forest Entomology and Pathology
Jklutsch@Nmhu.Edu

Kyle J. Shaney, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Forestry
Wildlife Management and Ecology
Kshaney@Nmhu.Edu

Julie Tsatsaros, Ph.D.Department of Forestry and Environmental Science and Management Graduate Program Coordinator
Aquatic Ecology and Water Science
Jtsatsaros@Nmhu.Edu

Geology Concentration

Jennifer Lindline, Ph.D.
Professor of Geology
Phone: 505-426-2046
Email: lindlinej@nmhu.edu
Research: Igneous petrology, environmental mineralogy, tectonomagmatic history of ancient and active mountain belts, magma mixing/mingling influences on magma chamber dynamics, and geoscience education.
Web page

Michael Petronis, Ph.D.
Professor of Geology
Phone: 505-454-3513
Email: mspetro@nmhu.edu
Research: Magnetic rock fabric analysis, paleomagnetism, shallow level magma emplacement processes, volcanology, and structural geology.
Web page